The Most Important Meal

Is breakfast truly the most important meal of the day? Let’s explore what happens when you DON’T eat breakfast. I’ll use myself for example: #truestory

One day (after not getting enough sleep the night before) I woke up (LATE), rushed to freshen up and ran out the door. Since “I didn’t have time” to make breakfast I stopped at Starbucks and ordered a sausage and cheddar breakfast sandwich and a chocolate banana smoothie. Yum, right? NO.

I won’t go into the nutrition facts for the smoothie. I’m too embarrassed. Let’s just talk about the sandwich. Drum roll please!

Calories 500 (YIKES!)

Sodium 920 mg
Total Fat 28 g

Potassium 0 mg
Saturated Fat 9 g

Total Carbs 41 g (and not the good kind)
Polyunsaturated 0 g

Dietary Fiber 1 g
Monounsaturated 0 g

Sugars 3 g
Trans Fat 0 g

Protein 15 g (THANK GOD)
Cholesterol 165 mg
Vitamin A 8%

Calcium 35%
Vitamin C 0%

Iron 20%

Not having enough time to make breakfast, do you think I made lunch? No. I don’t remember what I grabbed that day, but it wasn’t healthy. When you begin your day with bad choices it becomes a domino effect, and I went on like this for an entire week!

Not today. This morning, even though I woke up later than I wanted to, I made myself two scrambled eggs with spinach and ate half a grapefruit. I went to work feeling full, energized, and satisfied!

The moral of the story is simple: make great choices in the morning and your body will thank you for it. Oh, and I need to get more sleep.

 

